top of page
Search
  • littlehouseonthefa0

Happy Birth-day, Puppies

It’s hard to say exactly which day the litter was born, because two of my kids and I pulled an all-nighter to help deliver Daffy’s puppies. June 13 is the officially recorded date, and despite our exhaustion at 3:30 Monday morning, we were relieved and thankful to have all eleven pups breathing, dry, and nursing.


The newborn puppies were so tiny and helpless! We rubbed each puppy dry and ensured it was nursing well. Some puppies took more coaxing than others to latch on, but with a little effort on our part, even the reluctant pups were soon receiving their first meal.



Our hastily scribbled record paper shows the time of birth and the weight of each puppy in order. I was astounded that four puppies were over a pound each!



I may have been feeling too sleepy by the wakeful morning hours to help puppies, but I had plenty of assistance watching over the newborns. All my kids lent extra ears, eyes and hands in watchful care.

Daffy felt right at home when I set up the kiddy pool for her whelping box. The arrangement worked great for a couple of weeks!


Daffy is such a great mom!

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page